Examples of spam tracing:

E-mail and Web site

Example 1
Note: "@" has been deleted from innocent addresses to prevent
harvesting. The first past shows where I actually sent the complaint,
and the rest shows how I deduced where to send it.

Subject: [Fwd: CUM BUY MY AMATEUR VIDEO I'M 18 AND MASTURBATING]

 Date: Sun, 15 Dec 2002 14:50:45 -0500
 From: "William A. Levinson" <wlevinso ix.netcom.com>
 To: admin megagiga.com, admin sexplanets.com, abuse hostcentric.com, ipadmin adelphia.net, abuse adelphia.net

I've seen "Free Adult Hosting" enough times to decide to do something
about it.
Hostcentric, they're right above you in the traceroute. Please enforce
http://www.hostcentric.com/Company/AcceptableUsagePolicy.asp



Begin with the full headers to get the E-mail source. Commentary is in a different color from what is actually in the headers. Also remember that @s have been removed from innocent addresses to prevent harvesting from this page.

Status: U
 Return-Path: <nighttraindb aol.com>
 Received: from MULTIMEDIA ([68.67.224.133]) by merlin (EarthLink
SMTP Server) with SMTP id
AOL is of course phony. 68.67.224.133 is the IP address of the E-mail.
 18nAAd7eb3NZFlq0 for <wlevinso ix.netcom.com>; Sun, 15
Dec 2002 07:21:32 -0800 (PST)
 From: "EasyAmber" <nighttraindb aol.com>
 To: <wlevinso ix.netcom.com>
 Subject: CUM BUY MY AMATEUR VIDEO I'M 18 AND
MASTURBATING
 Mime-Version: 1.0
 Content-Type: text/html; charset="iso-8859-1"
 Date: Sun, 15 Dec 2002 10:21:34
 Message-ID: <200212150721.18nAAd7eb3NZFlq0@merlin>

 X-Mozilla-Status: 8001
 X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
 X-UIDL: 18nAAd7eb3NZFlq0.0

wlevinso ix.netcom.com CUM BUY MY AMATEUR HOME VIDEO: See me in my first homemade video EASYAMBER2002
MASTURBATING you'll be surprised at the positions I can place myself in.
There's also a surprise ending mmmmmmmmmmm he's
good. http://www.free-adult-hosting.net/easyamber
This is the site you want to have taken down.
-------------------------------------

Go to UXN Spam Combat and use the ARIN lookup http://combat.uxn.com/ for 68.67.224.133. (I tried RIPE first because the Web site, as shown below, seems to be hosted from Europe. It was a lot easier when there was a single IP address registry!)
Here is what you get. This one is very easy because the spammer did not even
use a Super Sekrit Klingon Kloaking spamkit to scramble its headers.

E-mail account: Search results for: 68.67.224.133
 Adelphia Cable Communications ADELPHIA-CABLE-4 (NET-68-64-0-0-1)
 68.64.0.0 - 68.71.255.255
 Adelphia 68671920-Z5 (NET-68-67-192-0-1)
 68.67.192.0 - 68.67.255.255
Click on "Adelphia Cabel Communications" to get

OrgName: Adelphia Cable Communications
 OrgID: ADEL

 NetRange: 68.64.0.0 - 68.71.255.255
 CIDR: 68.64.0.0/13
 NetName: ADELPHIA-CABLE-4
 NetHandle: NET-68-64-0-0-1
 Parent: NET-68-0-0-0-0
 NetType: Direct Allocation
 NameServer: NS1.ADELPHIA.NET
 NameServer: NS2.ADELPHIA.NET
 NameServer: NS3.ADELPHIA.NET
 Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
 RegDate: 2001-12-19
 Updated: 2002-04-10

 TechEmail: ipadmin adelphia.net

 OrgTechEmail: arin adelphiacom.net

so include abuse "at adelphia.com in your complaint.



Now for the spammer's Web site: use UXN Spam Combat's or
http://Xwhois.com/ to find out where this spammer lives:

 Checking server [whois.crsnic.net]
 Checking server [whois.opensrs.net]
 Results:
 Registrant:
 SexPlanets Network
 A.J. Ernststraat 199
 1083 GV Amsterdam
 Postbus 7827
 Amsterdam, 1008AA
 NL

 Domain Name: FREE-ADULT-HOSTING.NET

 Administrative Contact:
 Planets, Sex admin sexplanets.com  <============ Complain here
 A.J. Ernststraat 199
 1083 GV Amsterdam
 Postbus 7827
 Amsterdam, 1008AA
 NL
 34 123 424532

 Technical Contact:
 [same as above]

 Registration Service Provider:
 MegaGiga.Com Inc, admin megagiga.com  <============ Complain here
 972 3 560 4848

 Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
 Record last updated on 25-Jun-2002.
 Record expires on 18-Dec-2002.
 Record Created on 18-Dec-1999.

 Domain servers in listed order:
 NS1.MEGAGIGA.COM 66.40.9.150
 NS2.MEGAGIGA.COM 66.40.9.201

Sexplanets' FAQ page at http://www.sexplanets.com/faq.html says that spamming is cause for deletion of a Web site. In general, however, a traceroute (available from UXN Spam Combat or even TRACERT.EXE in your own Windows directory) can find the ISPs directly above the one to which you are complaining, and copying them sometimes helps assure that action is taken.:

traceroute to FREE-ADULT-HOSTING.NET (66.40.9.138), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
 1 manny.Firewall.Opus1.COM (192.245.12.95) 4.882 ms
 2 Opus-GW (207.182.35.49) 19.530 ms
 3 Login-Opus-T1-2.Opus1.NET (207.182.63.106) 26.366 ms
 4 opus1-gw.login.COM (165.64.254.49) 17.577 ms
 5 F10.tus1.login.COM (165.64.254.77) 23.436 ms
 6 66-162-41-17.gen.twtelecom.net (66.162.41.17) 17.577 ms
 7 66-162-41-1.gen.twtelecom.net (66.162.41.1) 22.459 ms
 8 216-136-127-9.gen.twtelecom.net (216.136.127.9) 22.459 ms
 9 dist-02-so-0-0-0-0.mdso.twtelecom.net (168.215.53.30) 37.107 ms
10 dist-01-ge-2-3-0-0.mdso.twtelecom.net (168.215.55.101) 39.060 ms
11 dist-01-so-0-0-0-0.okld.twtelecom.net (168.215.55.77) 42.966 ms
12 peer-01-so-0-3-0-0.palo.twtelecom.net (66.192.250.38) 44.919 ms
13 paix.maxim.net (198.32.176.45) 41.990 ms
14 ATM1-0.FMT-2.hostcentric.com (209.25.214.181) 41.990 ms
15 VLAN5.FMT6509-1.hostcentric.com (66.40.24.70) 43.943 ms
16 uplink.summit4-2.hostcentric.com (209.25.128.132) 43.943 ms
17 web08.us.megagiga.com (66.40.9.138) 44.919 ms

So add abuse "at" hostcentric.com to your complaint. This will assure that someone in this chain (Sexplanets, Megagiga, Hostcentric) deals with the spammer.

In this case, Sam Spade's address digger could not uncover the same information. ARIN is unfortunately refusing Sam Spade contact due to high usage. (It's a popular anti-spam site, that's probably why.)

Example 2 (which spammer wants to be next?)

"Spam Delenda Est" antispam home page

visitors since 7 January 2003